Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
AalyandTheBooks
18 février 2015

Book Blitz : Shattered (Stolen Breaths #2) by Pamela Sparkman, Deanna Gohn

Title: Shattered (Stolen Breaths #2)
Author: Pamela Sparkman & Deanna Gohn
Release Date: Oct 13, 2014
Find on Goodreads

Close your eyes for a moment and picture this. 
A gorgeous redhead walks into a bar. 
No, wait, a wedding reception. 
A gorgeous redhead walks into a wedding reception. Poised, polished and flawless - on the outside. 
He's tall, dark, and handsome, exactly like a fairytale prince and he won't take no for an answer as he leads her to the dance floor. 

But this will be no ordinary dance and theirs is no ordinary story. What begins as rhythmic steps on a dance floor fluidly and beautifully becomes the rhythm of two hearts meant to beat as one. 

Until the music stops. 

In a moment everything she's put behind her comes crashing down, threatening to destroy what his love has helped repair and rebuild. 
Life throws punches and it hits hard when you least expect it. 
What they learn is that sometimes, in order to be truly whole, you have to first be shattered to your very core. 

Amazon

 

Before I even realized what I was doing, I’d reached out and grabbed her hand and pulled her into me; and then I was kissing her.  I’m pretty sure I caught her off guard, since she let out a soft moan.  My hands held her face, and I… forgot how to do this.  My lips froze.  Her lips and mine were touching and nothing more.  The kiss was simple.  It was chaste.  It was precious.  And for a whole minute that’s what we did, touched lips, because I forgot how to do this.  My lips completely paralyzed against hers made this the most innocent and the most sensual kiss I’d ever experienced. 

I slowly, very slowly, backed away. She still had her eyes closed.  She was mesmerizing.  She opened her eyes and looked up at me, her eyes holding mine.

“Don’t say anything,” I quickly told her.  “Just…just let me look at you.”

She complied, and remained silent.  She held my gaze, as I held hers, and I slowly counted in my head all the things I loved about her.  She was beautiful, kind, funny, sophisticated...  The list grew longer as I stared down at her, and I finished my mental list with this realization: she was Maggie, which meant she was everything

“Tomorrow,” I said, “I’m taking you somewhere fun, so get some rest.  And wear comfortable shoes.”  I stepped around her and guided her to the bed, stopping her when she touched the mattress with the back of her knees.  “Lie down, and I’ll tuck you in.”

She still had not said a word, only obliging my requests.  She lay down and I pulled the covers up over her, then reached around and turned off the lamp.  I leaned in, lingering quietly above her, wishing I could tell her what was in my heart.  I placed a kiss on her forehead, a soft whisper of one that lasted for a beat longer than I intended, but not as long as I would have liked, then gently pulled back.

“Night, Maggie,” I said, walking toward the door.

“I didn’t think you would really do it,” she whispered.

“What?  Kiss you?”

“Yeah.”

“I wasn’t going to, but you challenged me.  I guess you could say you made me do it.”

“Is that what I am?  A challenge?”

“You’re definitely a challenge, sweetheart.  It’s a challenge just to keep my hands to myself whenever we’re in the same room.

 

Pamela Sparkman - 

I grew up in Alabama and have always been an avid reader. I had a stack of those Little Golden Books and I can remember reading Three Little Kittens over and over and over again. It was my favorite.

Fast forward and the older I got the more in love with books I became. So, I'm admitting that I am a huge nerd. The only reading I don't like are those math word problems. And I'm okay with that because no one has ever asked me in real life... "If I give you two bananas and take away six apples, how long will it take the southbound train to collide with the northbound train if Johnny left his house at midnight?" It just doesn't happen.

So, yeah, books are my thing.

Oh and music. All kinds. Love.It.

Facebook| Twitter| Goodreads

 

Deanna Gohn - 

Email

 

My Review :

Shattered was just a loving, full of love story, focusing about Maggie and Joe’s relationship.
This book was like a song, you just have to swing into the rhythm, and once you started this book, you don’t want this to end.

This book doesn’t any crazy plot, alpha or billionaires men, just endearing characters, and the built of the relationship between Maggie and Joe’s. To strangers from « friends « , then to lovers.
It was kind of refreshing, seing how they first meet, and how Joe fell for her.
They met at their best friends’ wedding, as bridesmaid and best man. Joe works in a bar, Maggie is a photographer.

He’s the charmer, she’s the quiet one. She had insecurities, he was confident.
He loved making jokes, she enjoyed his attitude. She didn’t laugh much, he was the only one to succeeded it. They both felt the spark, but Maggie with her issues tried to fight it, besides that didn’t live next to each other, and when the wedding is over, everything will be going as it used to be.

This story was very interesting not for the dual POV, but in the way their relationship was built. It wasn’t like love at first sight, maybe for Joe (the sweetest male character I had to meet in a book), but how the interaction was settling naturally, without being fake.
In each chapter, they shared their feelings, with a sensibility that particularly touched me.
Maggie was so lost and her past "relationships" with men weren’t very successful, she let her last boyfriend using her. But Joe wasn’t like that, and his attraction to her was making him confused because Maggie was so closed up and didn’t want to scare her away.

IMG_0002


But when she had to go back to their lives, they both felt empty. Joe couldn’t stop thinking of her and Maggie was avoiding the obvious. Hopefully he didn’t give up and through patience and confidence, he kept her in his sight. He was determined to be with her, even if he had to be friend with her first.
I think that they really have a fabulous chemistry and Joe made my heart swoon so many times and his jokes with Maggie made me also grinning from ear to ear, with a big smile on my face.
Joe wasn’t only sweet but sexy and hot! His ways to tease Maggie were definitely getting a room on fire!

Don’t forget the other characters : Cooper, Lilly, Hayden, Beth, Ms Sophie (tricky woman!), Joe’s parents, Maggie’s family. I enjoyed all of them such as Maggie and Joe.
It was like they were the chorus of Maggie and Joe’s love song. Friendship and family were an important part of this book and it was very well orchestrated, settled into their story. These parts were warming, funny, full of love and life.

They may had tough times but they didn’t let their issues get over them, they fought it, like life partners without crazy stuff between them. I was relieved to read that, without crazy exes or other stuff which could make this story less special. Dont get me wrong, this book wasn’t cheesy, it just made me happy, seing Maggie finding her HEA, because she suffered from her childhood, felt rejected, making her insecure and Joe was the only one to make her feel, make her so special that we can see that she was everything to her. With Joe Maggie became tougher, in a good way, opened up to him, letting him in her life. They were sparkling!

IMG_0025


I didn’t read the first book and I didn’t bother me. But Pamela Sparkman and Deanna Gohn gave us an amazing good story that I added all ther books to my TBR! Just a beautiful story with endearing characters, so let yourself go into this story and give a try! Maggie and Joe are the sweetest! I was kind of sad to leave them but I just had to wait for Hayden and Beth’s story and just the blurb makes me want this book right now.

IMG_0021

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
AalyandTheBooks
Publicité

PicsArt_1420227382911

Archives
AalyandTheBooks
Publicité